The Independent
- Legal name
- Independent Digital News and Media Limited
- Country
- United Kingdom
- Type
- Online news
- Founded
- Not disclosed
- Editor-in-chief
- Not disclosed
- Claim
- Not claimed by the organisation
- Last verified
- 1 March 2026
1 of 6 layers verified
Transparency
Limited
3 of 7 key disclosures on record, 1 of them checked by our researchers.
- Legal name and registration number on record, not yet checked
- Owners with influence on record, not yet checked
- Beneficial owners (the people behind the companies) not disclosed
- State or public-body ownership stated not disclosed
- State advertising or revenue mix not disclosed
- Public contact address not disclosed
- Official websites and accounts verified
- People behind the owning companies not disclosed
Represent this organisation? Add beneficial owners (the people behind the companies), state or public-body ownership stated, state advertising or revenue mix, public contact address and the level moves up. Claim and complete
The organisation has not claimed this passport. It is built from public records; every fact shows its source and whether a researcher has checked it. Something wrong? Report it · Represent this organisation? Claim the passport
Who is it?
Origin
Partly verified
- Brand names Pending check
- The Independent
- Company registration number Pending check
- Companies House 07320345
- Registered address
- Not disclosed
- Public contact email
- Not disclosed
Who stands behind it?
Control
Not yet verified
- Owners with influence Pending check
Owner Owner type Sovereignty Media Limited Company - Beneficial owners
- Not disclosed
- State or public-body ownership
- Not disclosed
- Parent group
- Not disclosed
2 sources
- Companies House, INDEPENDENT DIGITAL NEWS AND MEDIA LIMITED (07320345), filing history page 1, read 2026-10-20 (PSC02 filed 23 Jan 2026: notification of Sovereignty Media Limited as a person with significant control from 23 Jan 2026; PSC07 filed 23 Jan 2026: cessation of Evgeny Lebedev as a PSC from 23 Jan 2026; SH01 allotment of shares on 28 Jul 2026; confirmation statement 23 Nov 2025 with no updates)
- Companies House, INDEPENDENT DIGITAL NEWS AND MEDIA LIMITED (07320345), overview, read 2026-10-20 (active; incorporated 20 Jul 2010; SIC 58190; registered office Alphabeta Building, 14-18 Finsbury Square, London EC2A 1AH)
Who pays?
Money
Nothing disclosed
- State advertising and foreign public funding
- Not disclosed
- Revenue mix
- Not disclosed
- Named funders
- Not disclosed
Where does it appear?
Channels
Verified
- Official websites Verified
- Official social accounts
- Not disclosed
How does it travel?
Distribution
Nothing disclosed
- Distribution partners
- Not disclosed
Who is connected?
Networks
Nothing disclosed
- Sister outlets in the same group
- Not disclosed
- Documented public-office or party roles
- Not disclosed
Change history
| Version | Date | What changed |
|---|---|---|
| 2 | 20 October 2026 | Updated from research database (Control) |
| 1 | 19 October 2026 | First published |
Need the full picture?
This passport is the public summary. Our researchers can trace full ownership chains, funding, distribution and networks behind this organisation.
Commission an analysis