NRK
- Legal name
- NORSK RIKSKRINGKASTING AS (state-owned public broadcaster regulated by kringkastingsloven, the NRK-plakaten and NRK's vedtekter)
- Country
- Norway
- Type
- Multi-platform group
- Founded
- 1933
- Editor-in-chief
- Vibeke Fürst Haugen (kringkastingssjef / Director-General)
- Claim
- Not claimed by the organisation
- Last verified
- 1 March 2026
1 of 6 layers verified
Transparency
Partial
5 of 6 key disclosures on record, 1 of them checked by our researchers.
- Legal name and registration number on record, not yet checked
- Owners with influence on record, not yet checked
- Beneficial owners (the people behind the companies) not applicable
- State or public-body ownership stated on record, not yet checked
- State advertising or revenue mix on record, not yet checked
- Public contact address not disclosed
- Official websites and accounts verified
- State-owned
- Owners or executives hold or held political office
Represent this organisation? Add public contact address and the level moves up. Claim and complete
The organisation has not claimed this passport. It is built from public records; every fact shows its source and whether a researcher has checked it. Something wrong? Report it · Represent this organisation? Claim the passport
Who is it?
Origin
Partly verified
- Brand names Pending check
- NRK
- NRK1
- NRK2
- NRK3
- NRK Super
- NRK P1
- NRK P2
- NRK P3
- NRK mP3
- NRK Nyheter
- Company registration number Pending check
- Org.nr 976 390 512
- Registered address Pending check
- Bjørnstjerne Bjørnsons plass 1, 0340 OSLO
- Public contact email
- Not disclosed
4 sources
- Brønnøysundregistrene, Enhetsregisteret (virksomhet.brreg.no), read 2026-10-16 (NORSK RIKSKRINGKASTING AS, org.nr 976 390 512, aksjeselskap, Bjørnstjerne Bjørnsons plass 1, 0340 Oslo; NACE 60.200)
- Store norske leksikon, 'NRK', last updated 4 Feb 2026, read 2026-10-16 (Norsk rikskringkasting AS, org.nr 976390512; founded 1933 as a radio company; kringkastingssjef Vibeke Fürst Haugen; styreleder Jan Erik Kjerpeseth; funded directly over the state budget since 2020 after the licence fee ended in 2019; channels NRK1, NRK2, NRK3/NRK Super, P1, P1+, P2, P3, mP3, nrk.no)
- Regjeringen.no, 'Styret i Norsk rikskringkasting AS', modified 24 Feb 2026, read 2026-10-16 (NRK an aksjeselskap since 1 May 1996; 'staten eier alle aksjer'; the minister of culture and equality is the general meeting)
- Purehelp (company data mirrored from Brønnøysundregistrene), read 2026-10-14 (daglig leder Vibeke Fürst Haugen; styreleder Jan Erik Kjerpeseth; revenue NOK 6.7 bn 2025)
Who stands behind it?
Control
Not yet verified
- Owners with influence Pending check
Owner Share % Holding Owner type Den norske stat (Kultur- og likestillingsdepartementet) 100% Direct State or public body - Beneficial owners
- Not disclosed
- State or public-body ownership Pending check
- Fully state-owned
- Parent group Pending check
- Den norske stat (Kultur- og likestillingsdepartementet)
4 sources
- Regjeringen.no, 'Styret i Norsk rikskringkasting AS', modified 24 Feb 2026, read 2026-10-16 (NRK an aksjeselskap since 1 May 1996; 'staten eier alle aksjer'; the minister of culture and equality is the general meeting)
- Regjeringen.no (Kultur- og likestillingsdepartementet), 'Kringkasting og audiovisuelle bestillingstjenester', updated 10 Mar 2025, read 2026-10-16 (NRK is an aksjeselskap 'heleid av staten', the minister is the general meeting; regulated by kringkastingsloven, NRK-plakaten and NRK's vedtekter; funded by grants over the state budget; TV 2 commercial public-service agreement 2024–2028, compensation up to NOK 150m a year)
- Regjeringen.no, 'NRK AS – Ordinær generalforsamling 12. juni 2026' (signed protocol), read 2026-10-16 (statsråd Lubna Jaffery acted for the state as sole shareholder; 2025 accounts approved; board 2026–2028 chaired by Jan Erik Kjerpeseth)
- Nordicom (University of Gothenburg), Factsheet 2025:4 'The 25 largest media companies in the Nordics by turnover (2024)', 18 Dec 2025, read 2026-10-16 (owners: Schibsted – Tinius Foundation; NRK – Norwegian state (Ministry of Culture); Amedia – Amedia Foundation; Polaris Media – Schibsted 29%, NWT 27%, Must Invest 15%; Egmont – Egmont Foundation; Norway's commercial public-service output via 'the Danish foundation-owned Egmont Group's TV 2')
Who pays?
Money
Not yet verified
- State advertising and foreign public funding
- Not disclosed
- Revenue mix Pending check
Source Share of revenue Public funding Over 50% - Named funders Pending check
Funder Type Note Norwegian state (Stortinget appropriation over the state budget) Government or public body 2024 grant 'vel 6 milliardar kroner' plus coverage of outgoing VAT (Medietilsynet); state-budget funding replaced the licence fee from 2020
3 sources
- Medietilsynet, Allmennkringkastingsrapporten 2024 – Delrapport om NRK (file dated 10 Jun 2025), read 2026-10-16 ('Stortinget løyvde vel 6 milliardar kroner til NRK i 2024', plus coverage of outgoing VAT)
- Regjeringen.no (Kultur- og likestillingsdepartementet), 'Kringkasting og audiovisuelle bestillingstjenester', updated 10 Mar 2025, read 2026-10-16 (NRK is an aksjeselskap 'heleid av staten', the minister is the general meeting; regulated by kringkastingsloven, NRK-plakaten and NRK's vedtekter; funded by grants over the state budget; TV 2 commercial public-service agreement 2024–2028, compensation up to NOK 150m a year)
- Store norske leksikon, 'NRK', last updated 4 Feb 2026, read 2026-10-16 (Norsk rikskringkasting AS, org.nr 976390512; founded 1933 as a radio company; kringkastingssjef Vibeke Fürst Haugen; styreleder Jan Erik Kjerpeseth; funded directly over the state budget since 2020 after the licence fee ended in 2019; channels NRK1, NRK2, NRK3/NRK Super, P1, P1+, P2, P3, mP3, nrk.no)
Where does it appear?
Channels
Verified
- Official websites Verified
- Official social accounts Verified
Platform Link YouTube youtube.com/nrk
How does it travel?
Distribution
Nothing disclosed
- Distribution partners
- Not disclosed
Who is connected?
Networks
Not yet verified
- Sister outlets in the same group Pending check
- NRK Nyheter
- NRK Super
- Documented public-office or party roles Pending check
- On file; available on request. Request the full record
2 sources
- Store norske leksikon, 'NRK', last updated 4 Feb 2026, read 2026-10-16 (Norsk rikskringkasting AS, org.nr 976390512; founded 1933 as a radio company; kringkastingssjef Vibeke Fürst Haugen; styreleder Jan Erik Kjerpeseth; funded directly over the state budget since 2020 after the licence fee ended in 2019; channels NRK1, NRK2, NRK3/NRK Super, P1, P1+, P2, P3, mP3, nrk.no)
- Regjeringen.no, 'NRK AS – Ordinær generalforsamling 12. juni 2026' (signed protocol), read 2026-10-16 (statsråd Lubna Jaffery acted for the state as sole shareholder; 2025 accounts approved; board 2026–2028 chaired by Jan Erik Kjerpeseth)
Change history
| Version | Date | What changed |
|---|---|---|
| 1 | 19 October 2026 | First published |
Need the full picture?
This passport is the public summary. Our researchers can trace full ownership chains, funding, distribution and networks behind this organisation.
Commission an analysis