Österreichischer Rundfunk
- Legal name
- Österreichischer Rundfunk, Stiftung öffentlichen Rechts
- Country
- Austria
- Type
- Multi-platform group
- Founded
- Not disclosed
- Editor-in-chief
- Ingrid Thurnher, MBA (Generaldirektorin)
- Claim
- Not claimed by the organisation
- Last verified
- 21 February 2026
1 of 6 layers verified
Transparency
Partial
5 of 6 key disclosures on record, 1 of them checked by our researchers.
- Legal name and registration number on record, not yet checked
- Owners with influence not disclosed
- Beneficial owners (the people behind the companies) not applicable
- State or public-body ownership stated on record, not yet checked
- State advertising or revenue mix on record, not yet checked
- Public contact address on record, not yet checked
- Official websites and accounts verified
- State-owned
- Owners not disclosed
Represent this organisation? Add owners with influence and the level moves up. Claim and complete
The organisation has not claimed this passport. It is built from public records; every fact shows its source and whether a researcher has checked it. Something wrong? Report it · Represent this organisation? Claim the passport
Who is it?
Origin
Partly verified
EMFA Art. 6(1)(a)
- Brand names Pending check
- ORF
- ORF.at
- Hitradio Ö3
- ORF III (ORF Fernsehprogramm-Service GmbH & Co KG)
- Company registration number Pending check
- FN 71451 a (Handelsgericht Wien)
- Registered address Pending check
- Hugo-Portisch-Gasse 1, 1136 Wien
- Public contact email Pending check
- kundendienst@orf.at
2 sources
- ORF Offenlegung / Impressum (orf.at), page timestamp 04.09.2018 but naming current Generaldirektorin, read 2026-10-13 (legal name, FN 71451 a, address, ORF-Gesetz, Generaldirektorin, Unternehmensgegenstand, contact, subsidiaries)
- ORF-Gesetz (Bundesgesetz über den Österreichischen Rundfunk), RIS consolidated version as of 09.10.2026 (§1 Stiftung des öffentlichen Rechts with seat in Wien)
Who stands behind it?
Control
Not yet verified
EMFA Art. 6(1)(b) and (c)
- Owners with influence
- Not disclosed
- Beneficial owners
- Not disclosed
- State or public-body ownership Pending check
- Fully state-owned
- Parent group Pending check
- none (Stiftung des öffentlichen Rechts established by the ORF-Gesetz; no shareholders)
3 sources
- ORF Offenlegung / Impressum (orf.at), page timestamp 04.09.2018 but naming current Generaldirektorin, read 2026-10-13 (legal name, FN 71451 a, address, ORF-Gesetz, Generaldirektorin, Unternehmensgegenstand, contact, subsidiaries)
- ORF Geschäftsführung und Management (der.orf.at), read 2026-10-13 (Generaldirektorin Ingrid Thurnher, MBA; directors)
- ORF-Gesetz (Bundesgesetz über den Österreichischen Rundfunk), RIS consolidated version as of 09.10.2026 (§1 Stiftung des öffentlichen Rechts with seat in Wien)
Who pays?
Money
Not yet verified
EMFA Art. 6(1)(d), plus revenue mix
- State advertising and third-country public revenue
- Not disclosed
- Revenue mix Pending check
Source Share of revenue Public funding Over 50% Commercial advertising 10 to 25% - Named funders Pending check
Funder Type Note ORF-Beitrag payers (statutory household levy under the ORF-Gesetz) Other 2025: ORF-Beiträge EUR 742.4 million of total Erträge EUR 1,068.8 million (Einzelabschluss 2025)
Where does it appear?
Channels
Verified
- Official websites Verified
- Official social accounts Verified
Platform Link Facebook facebook.com/ORF/ Instagram instagram.com/orf/ YouTube youtube.com/@orfon LinkedIn linkedin.com/company/orf/ X x.com/ORF
How does it travel?
Distribution
Nothing disclosed
- Distribution partners
- Not disclosed
Who is connected?
Networks
Not yet verified
- Sister outlets in the same group Pending check
- ORF Enterprise GmbH & Co KG (100 %)
- ORF Online und Teletext GmbH & Co KG (100 %)
- ORF Fernsehprogramm-Service GmbH & Co KG
- ORF Marketing & Creation GmbH & Co KG
- Österreichische Rundfunksender GmbH & Co KG (ORS; Medicur Sendeanlagen GmbH 40 % limited partner)
- APA – Austria Presse Agentur eG (ORF 45.6 % member)
- Documented public-office or party roles
- Not disclosed
3 sources
- ORF Tochtergesellschaften (der.orf.at), read 2026-10-13 (ORF Enterprise 100 %, ORF Online und Teletext 100 %, ORS with Medicur Sendeanlagen GmbH 40 %)
- ORF Offenlegung / Impressum (orf.at), page timestamp 04.09.2018 but naming current Generaldirektorin, read 2026-10-13 (legal name, FN 71451 a, address, ORF-Gesetz, Generaldirektorin, Unternehmensgegenstand, contact, subsidiaries)
- APA Offenlegung gem. §25 MedienG, PDF dated June 2026, read 2026-10-13 (Medieninhaber, FN, Genossenschafter with shares, Geschäftsführung)
Change history
| Version | Date | What changed |
|---|---|---|
| 2 | 14 October 2026 | Updated from research database (Origin, Control, Money, Channels, Networks) |
| 1 | 13 October 2026 | First published |
Need the full picture?
This passport is the public summary. Our researchers can trace full ownership chains, funding, distribution and networks behind this organisation.
Commission an analysis