Debswana Diamond Company / De Beers / Okavango Diamond Company
- Legal name
- Debswana Diamond Company (Proprietary) Limited
- Country
- Botswana
- Type
- Business or financial institution
- Founded
- 1969
- Chief executive
- Not disclosed
- Claim
- Not claimed by the organisation
- Last verified
- 25 February 2025
1 of 5 layers verified
Transparency
Limited
3 of 7 key disclosures on record, 1 of them checked by our researchers.
- Legal name and registration number not disclosed
- Owners with influence on record, not yet checked
- Beneficial owners (the people behind the companies) not disclosed
- State or public-body ownership stated on record, not yet checked
- Revenue mix or named funders not disclosed
- Public contact address not disclosed
- Official websites and accounts verified
- State holds a minority stake
- People behind the owning companies not disclosed
Represent this organisation? Add legal name and registration number, beneficial owners (the people behind the companies), revenue mix or named funders, public contact address and the level moves up. Claim and complete
The organisation has not claimed this passport. It is built from public records; every fact shows its source and whether a researcher has checked it. Something wrong? Report it · Represent this organisation? Claim the passport
Needs update: last verified on 25 February 2025. Details may have changed since.
Who is it?
Origin
Partly verified
- Brand names Pending check
- Debswana
- Company registration number
- Not disclosed
- Registered address
- Not disclosed
- Public contact email
- Not disclosed
Who stands behind it?
Control
Not yet verified
- Owners with influence Pending check
Owner Share % Holding Owner type Government of the Republic of Botswana 50% Direct State or public body De Beers (De Beers Group) 50% Direct Company - Beneficial owners
- Not disclosed
- State or public-body ownership Pending check
- Minority stake
- Parent group Pending check
- 50:50 joint venture between De Beers Group (part of Anglo American plc) and the Government of the Republic of Botswana
2 sources
- Anglo American plc press release, 25 Feb 2025 (Debswana is a '50:50 joint venture between De Beers and the Government of Botswana'; new 10-year sales agreement and mining licences extended 2029-2054)
- Debswana, Report to Stakeholders 2012 (50/50 partnership between the Government of Botswana and De Beers)
Who pays?
Money
Nothing disclosed
- Revenue mix
- Not disclosed
- Named investors and funders
- Not disclosed
Where does it appear?
Channels
Verified
- Official websites Verified
- Official social accounts
- Not disclosed
Who is connected?
Networks
Nothing disclosed
- Related companies in the same group
- Not disclosed
- Documented public-office or party roles
- Not disclosed
Change history
| Version | Date | What changed |
|---|---|---|
| 2 | 20 October 2026 | Updated from research database (Origin, Control) |
| 1 | 19 October 2026 | First published |
Need the full picture?
This passport is the public summary. Our researchers can trace full ownership chains, funding, distribution and networks behind this organisation.
Commission an analysis