CBC/Radio-Canada
- Legal name
- Not disclosed
- Country
- Canada
- Type
- Television
- Founded
- Not disclosed
- Editor-in-chief
- Marie-Philippe Bouchard (President and CEO)
- Claim
- Not claimed by the organisation
- Last verified
- 14 August 2026
1 of 6 layers verified
Transparency
Partial
4 of 6 key disclosures on record, 1 of them checked by our researchers.
- Legal name and registration number not disclosed
- Owners with influence on record, not yet checked
- Beneficial owners (the people behind the companies) not applicable
- State or public-body ownership stated on record, not yet checked
- State advertising or revenue mix on record, not yet checked
- Public contact address not disclosed
- Official websites and accounts verified
- State-owned
Represent this organisation? Add legal name and registration number, public contact address and the level moves up. Claim and complete
The organisation has not claimed this passport. It is built from public records; every fact shows its source and whether a researcher has checked it. Something wrong? Report it · Represent this organisation? Claim the passport
Who is it?
Origin
Partly verified
- Brand names Pending check
- CBC
- Radio-Canada
- CBC/Radio-Canada
- Company registration number
- Not disclosed
- Registered address
- Not disclosed
- Public contact email
- Not disclosed
2 sources
- Canadian Heritage, news release, 2024-10-22, read 2026-10-19 (Marie-Philippe Bouchard appointed President and CEO of CBC/Radio-Canada by the Governor in Council for a five-year term from 2025-01-03; CBC/Radio-Canada is a Crown corporation in the Canadian Heritage portfolio, governed by the Broadcasting Act (1991))
- CRTC, Simplified Index of Multiple Ownership Charts, date modified 2026-05-06, read 2026-10-19 (lists ownership charts for BCE, Rogers, Corus and CBC; APTN, TVO, Torstar, The Globe and Mail, Postmedia, La Presse and The Canadian Press have no chart)
Who stands behind it?
Control
Not yet verified
- Owners with influence Pending check
Owner Share % Holding Owner type Government of Canada (Crown corporation, Canadian Heritage portfolio) 100% Direct State or public body - Beneficial owners
- Not disclosed
- State or public-body ownership Pending check
- Fully state-owned
- Parent group Pending check
- Government of Canada (Canadian Heritage portfolio)
Who pays?
Money
Not yet verified
- State advertising and foreign public funding
- Not disclosed
- Revenue mix Pending check
Source Share of revenue Public funding Over 50% Commercial advertising 10 to 25% Events and other 10 to 25% - Named funders Pending check
Funder Type Note Parliament of Canada (parliamentary appropriation) Government or public body $1.27 billion in 2022-23; Budget 2024 added $42 million for 2024-25
Where does it appear?
Channels
Verified
- Official websites Verified
- Official social accounts Verified
Platform Link Facebook facebook.com/cbcnews Instagram instagram.com/cbcnews/ YouTube youtube.com/@CBCNews X x.com/CBCNews
How does it travel?
Distribution
Nothing disclosed
- Distribution partners
- Not disclosed
Who is connected?
Networks
Nothing disclosed
- Sister outlets in the same group
- Not disclosed
- Documented public-office or party roles
- Not disclosed
Change history
| Version | Date | What changed |
|---|---|---|
| 2 | 20 October 2026 | Updated from research database (Origin, Control, Money) |
| 1 | 19 October 2026 | First published |
Need the full picture?
This passport is the public summary. Our researchers can trace full ownership chains, funding, distribution and networks behind this organisation.
Commission an analysis