Elections Canada
- Legal name
- Office of the Chief Electoral Officer
- Country
- Canada
- Type
- Regulator
- Founded
- Not disclosed
- Head
- Stéphane Perrault (Chief Electoral Officer; appointed 8 June 2018 for a non-renewable 10-year term)
- Claim
- Not claimed by the organisation
- Last verified
- 14 August 2026
1 of 5 layers verified
Transparency
Partial
5 of 6 key disclosures on record, 1 of them checked by our researchers.
- Legal name on record, not yet checked
- Who leads it on record, not yet checked
- How it is funded on record, not yet checked
- Legal basis or parent body on record, not yet checked
- Public contact address not disclosed
- Official websites and accounts verified
- Public body
Represent this organisation? Add public contact address and the level moves up. Claim and complete
The organisation has not claimed this passport. It is built from public records; every fact shows its source and whether a researcher has checked it. Something wrong? Report it · Represent this organisation? Claim the passport
Who is it?
Origin
Partly verified
- Brand names Pending check
- Elections Canada
- Élections Canada
- OCEO
- Registration number Pending check
- (Office of the Chief Electoral Officer; Chief Electoral Officer appointed by resolution of the House of Commons; operates under the Canada Elections Act and the Referendum Act)
- Registered address
- Not disclosed
- Public contact email
- Not disclosed
2 sources
- Elections Canada, Institutional structure (last modified 26 August 2021), read 2026-10-20 (Office of the Chief Electoral Officer, known as Elections Canada, independent non-partisan agency reporting directly to Parliament; CEO appointed by resolution of the House of Commons for a non-renewable 10-year term; Stéphane Perrault appointed 8 June 2018; main site www.elections.ca)
- Public Accounts of Canada 2025, Volume II, Section 6 Ministry summary (Democratic Institutions), read 2026-10-20 (Office of the Chief Electoral Officer 2024-25: voted CAD 64,033,614, statutory CAD 249,246,078 incl. electoral expenditures under the Canada Elections Act and Referendum Act CAD 230,241,669; total CAD 313,279,692)
Who stands behind it?
Control
Not yet verified
- Owner or founding authority Pending check
Owner Holding Owner type Parliament of Canada (House of Commons appoints the Chief Electoral Officer; agency reports directly to Parliament) Direct State or public body - State or public-body ownership Pending check
- Fully state-owned
- Answers to Pending check
- Parliament of Canada (reports directly); listed under the Democratic Institutions ministry in the Public Accounts
Who pays?
Money
Not yet verified
- How it is funded Pending check
Source Share of revenue State budget Over 50% - Budget and funding bodies Pending check
Funder Type Note Government of Canada (Public Accounts 2025) Government or public body CAD 313.28m used in 2024-25 (voted CAD 64.03m; statutory CAD 249.25m incl. CAD 230.24m electoral expenditures)
Where does it appear?
Channels
Verified
- Official websites Verified
- Official social accounts
- Not disclosed
Who is connected?
Networks
Nothing disclosed
- Agencies and funds under it
- Not disclosed
- Public-office or party roles of board members
- Not disclosed
Change history
| Version | Date | What changed |
|---|---|---|
| 2 | 20 October 2026 | Updated from research database (Origin, Control, Money, Channels) |
| 1 | 19 October 2026 | First published |
Need the full picture?
This passport is the public summary. Our researchers can trace full ownership chains, funding, distribution and networks behind this organisation.
Commission an analysis