ByteDance
- Legal name
- ByteDance Ltd.
- Country
- China
- Type
- Platform or infrastructure
- Founded
- 2012
- Chief executive
- Rubo Liang (Chairman of the Board)
- Claim
- Not claimed by the organisation
- Last verified
- Not yet
0 of 5 layers verified
Transparency
Partial
4 of 7 key disclosures on record, 0 of them checked by our researchers.
- Legal name and registration number not disclosed
- Owners with influence on record, not yet checked
- Beneficial owners (the people behind the companies) on record, not yet checked
- State or public-body ownership stated not disclosed
- Revenue mix or named funders on record, not yet checked
- Public contact address not disclosed
- Official websites and accounts on record, not yet checked
Represent this organisation? Add legal name and registration number, state or public-body ownership stated, public contact address and the level moves up. Claim and complete
The organisation has not claimed this passport. It is built from public records; every fact shows its source and whether a researcher has checked it. Something wrong? Report it · Represent this organisation? Claim the passport
Needs update: this passport has not been fully verified yet.
Who is it?
Origin
Not yet verified
- Brand names
- Not disclosed
- Company registration number
- Not disclosed
- Registered address
- Not disclosed
- Public contact email
- Not disclosed
Who stands behind it?
Control
Not yet verified
- Owners with influence Pending check
Owner Holding Owner type Yiming Zhang Indirect Person - Beneficial owners Pending check
- On file; available on request. Request the full record
- State or public-body ownership
- Not disclosed
- Parent group
- Not disclosed
2 sources
- Companies House, persons with significant control of TikTok Information Technologies UK Limited (10165711), read 13 Oct 2026 for the register's platform profile (out/platform-profiles.json), not re-read on 20 Oct 2026 (Yiming Zhang, notified 5 Dec 2017: ownership of shares more than 25% but not more than 50%; voting rights more than 50% but less than 75%)
- Companies House, persons with significant control of TikTok Prosperity UK Limited (15009972), read 13 Oct 2026 for the register's platform profile (out/platform-profiles.json), not re-read on 20 Oct 2026 (Yiming Zhang, notified 18 Jul 2023: same bands)
Who pays?
Money
Not yet verified
- Revenue mix
- Not disclosed
- Named investors and funders Pending check
Funder Type Note Coatue Company listed as 'Select Investors' on bytedance.com General Atlantic Company listed as 'Select Investors' on bytedance.com Sequoia Capital Company listed as 'Select Investors' on bytedance.com KKR Company listed as 'Select Investors' on bytedance.com SIG Company listed as 'Select Investors' on bytedance.com SoftBank Vision Fund Company listed as 'Select Investors' on bytedance.com Source Code Capital Company listed as 'Select Investors' on bytedance.com Tiger Global Company listed as 'Select Investors' on bytedance.com
Where does it appear?
Channels
Not yet verified
- Official websites Pending check
- Official social accounts
- Not disclosed
Who is connected?
Networks
Not yet verified
- Other services of the same group Pending check
- TikTok
- Documented public-office or party roles
- Not disclosed
2 sources
- ByteDance corporate website and 'About' page, read 13 Oct 2026 for the register's platform profile (out/platform-profiles.json), not re-read on 20 Oct 2026 ('ByteDance was founded in 2012 by a team led by Yiming Zhang and Rubo Liang'; Rubo Liang 'Chairman of the Board'; board: Rubo Liang, Arthur Dantchik, William E. Ford, Xavier Niel, Neil Shen; 'Select Investors': Coatue, General Atlantic, Sequoia Capital, KKR, SIG, SoftBank Vision Fund, Source Code Capital, Tiger Global)
- Companies House, persons with significant control of TikTok Information Technologies UK Limited (10165711), read 13 Oct 2026 for the register's platform profile (out/platform-profiles.json), not re-read on 20 Oct 2026 (Yiming Zhang, notified 5 Dec 2017: ownership of shares more than 25% but not more than 50%; voting rights more than 50% but less than 75%)
Change history
| Version | Date | What changed |
|---|---|---|
| 1 | 4 November 2026 | First published |
Need the full picture?
This passport is the public summary. Our researchers can trace full ownership chains, funding, distribution and networks behind this organisation.
Commission an analysis