Semanario Universidad
- Legal name
- Universidad de Costa Rica (Semanario Universidad)
- Country
- Costa Rica
- Type
- Newspaper
- Founded
- 1970
- Editor-in-chief
- Not disclosed
- Claim
- Not claimed by the organisation
- Last verified
- 14 August 2026
0 of 6 layers verified
Transparency
Partial
5 of 6 key disclosures on record, 0 of them checked by our researchers.
- Legal name and registration number not disclosed
- Owners with influence on record, not yet checked
- Beneficial owners (the people behind the companies) not applicable
- State or public-body ownership stated on record, not yet checked
- State advertising or revenue mix on record, not yet checked
- Public contact address on record, not yet checked
- Official websites and accounts on record, not yet checked
- State-owned
Represent this organisation? Add legal name and registration number and the level moves up. Claim and complete
The organisation has not claimed this passport. It is built from public records; every fact shows its source and whether a researcher has checked it. Something wrong? Report it · Represent this organisation? Claim the passport
Who is it?
Origin
Partly verified
- Brand names Pending check
- Semanario Universidad
- Universidad
- Company registration number
- Not disclosed
- Registered address Pending check
- Campus Rodrigo Facio Brenes, Universidad de Costa Rica, San Pedro de Montes de Oca, San José
- Public contact email Pending check
- semanariouniversidad@ucr.ac.cr
2 sources
- Universidad de Costa Rica, CUSED, Informe de valoración N° 21-2022 Semanario Universidad (approved 25 Aug 2022), read 2026-10-19 (created by the Consejo Universitario on 27 Oct 1969, named 'Universidad' on 14 Sep 1970, first edition 28 Sep 1970; governed by the Reglamento General del Sistema de Medios de Comunicación Social de la UCR (19 Sep 2013); subscription and sales income go to UCR and are assigned to the Semanario within the ordinary and extraordinary budget; advertising income recorded in the university's caja única)
- Semanario Universidad, article page footer (10 Oct 2024 article), read 2026-10-19 (address Campus Rodrigo Facio Brenes, Universidad de Costa Rica, San Pedro de Montes de Oca; semanariouniversidad@ucr.ac.cr; social links)
Who stands behind it?
Control
Not yet verified
- Owners with influence Pending check
Owner Share % Holding Owner type Universidad de Costa Rica 100% Direct State or public body - Beneficial owners
- Not disclosed
- State or public-body ownership Pending check
- Fully state-owned
- Parent group Pending check
- Universidad de Costa Rica (Sistema de Medios de Comunicación Social de la UCR)
2 sources
- Universidad de Costa Rica, CUSED, Informe de valoración N° 21-2022 Semanario Universidad (approved 25 Aug 2022), read 2026-10-19 (created by the Consejo Universitario on 27 Oct 1969, named 'Universidad' on 14 Sep 1970, first edition 28 Sep 1970; governed by the Reglamento General del Sistema de Medios de Comunicación Social de la UCR (19 Sep 2013); subscription and sales income go to UCR and are assigned to the Semanario within the ordinary and extraordinary budget; advertising income recorded in the university's caja única)
- Semanario Universidad, 'Laura Martínez regresa a la dirección de UNIVERSIDAD', 13 Aug 2019, read 2026-10-19 (director elected by the UCR Consejo Universitario under the Reglamento del Sistema de Medios; related outlets Sistema de Radios and Canal UCR)
Who pays?
Money
Not yet verified
- State advertising and foreign public funding
- Not disclosed
- Revenue mix
- Not disclosed
- Named funders Pending check
Funder Type Note Universidad de Costa Rica Other university ordinary and extraordinary budget; subscription, sales and advertising income are booked by UCR and assigned to the Semanario
Where does it appear?
Channels
Partly verified
- Official websites Verified
- Official social accounts Pending check
Platform Link Facebook facebook.com/semanariou/ YouTube youtube.com/user/semanariou Instagram instagram.com/semanariou/ X twitter.com/SemanarioU
How does it travel?
Distribution
Nothing disclosed
- Distribution partners
- Not disclosed
Who is connected?
Networks
Not yet verified
- Sister outlets in the same group Pending check
- Canal UCR
- Radios UCR
- Documented public-office or party roles
- Not disclosed
Change history
| Version | Date | What changed |
|---|---|---|
| 2 | 20 October 2026 | Updated from research database (Origin, Control, Money, Channels, Networks) |
| 1 | 19 October 2026 | First published |
Need the full picture?
This passport is the public summary. Our researchers can trace full ownership chains, funding, distribution and networks behind this organisation.
Commission an analysis