Addis Standard
- Legal name
- JaKenn Publishing PLC
- Country
- Ethiopia
- Type
- Online news
- Founded
- 2011
- Editor-in-chief
- Not disclosed
- Claim
- Not claimed by the organisation
- Last verified
- Not yet
0 of 6 layers verified
Transparency
Limited
2 of 7 key disclosures on record, 0 of them checked by our researchers.
- Legal name and registration number not disclosed
- Owners with influence not disclosed
- Beneficial owners (the people behind the companies) not disclosed
- State or public-body ownership stated on record, not yet checked
- State advertising or revenue mix not disclosed
- Public contact address not disclosed
- Official websites and accounts on record, not yet checked
- Owners not disclosed
Represent this organisation? Add legal name and registration number, owners with influence, beneficial owners (the people behind the companies), state advertising or revenue mix, public contact address and the level moves up. Claim and complete
The organisation has not claimed this passport. It is built from public records; every fact shows its source and whether a researcher has checked it. Something wrong? Report it · Represent this organisation? Claim the passport
Needs update: this passport has not been fully verified yet.
Who is it?
Origin
Not yet verified
- Brand names Pending check
- Addis Standard
- Company registration number
- Not disclosed
- Registered address
- Not disclosed
- Public contact email
- Not disclosed
2 sources
- Addis Standard, "Jakenn Publishing PLC launches tri-lingual service through its signature Addis Standard online", 20 Dec 2021, read 2026-10-20 (JaKenn Publishing PLC, Addis Abeba, publisher of Addis Standard; JaKenn founded February 2011 by two shareholders and introduced the publication; English, Amharic and Afaan Oromo on www.addisstandard.com; then Editor-in-Chief Siyanne Mekonnen, CEO Tsedale Lemma)
- Addis Standard via allAfrica, "Ethiopia Renews Reuters Journalists' Reporting Licenses After Six-Month Suspension", 28 Aug 2026, read 2026-10-20 (Addis Standard's own report: EMA revoked its voluntary online media registration certificate on 24 Feb 2026; Addis Standard has continued publishing; publisher JAKENN Publishing PLC filed for judicial review on 3 June 2026; Federal High Court hearing 24 June 2026, case active)
Who stands behind it?
Control
Not yet verified
- Owners with influence
- Not disclosed
- Beneficial owners
- Not disclosed
- State or public-body ownership Pending check
- None
- Parent group
- Not disclosed
Who pays?
Money
Nothing disclosed
- State advertising and foreign public funding
- Not disclosed
- Revenue mix
- Not disclosed
- Named funders
- Not disclosed
Where does it appear?
Channels
Not yet verified
- Official websites Pending check
- Official social accounts Pending check
Platform Link Telegram t.me/AddisstandardEng X x.com/addisstandard
2 sources
- Addis Standard, "Jakenn Publishing PLC launches tri-lingual service through its signature Addis Standard online", 20 Dec 2021, read 2026-10-20 (JaKenn Publishing PLC, Addis Abeba, publisher of Addis Standard; JaKenn founded February 2011 by two shareholders and introduced the publication; English, Amharic and Afaan Oromo on www.addisstandard.com; then Editor-in-Chief Siyanne Mekonnen, CEO Tsedale Lemma)
- Addis Standard official Telegram channel (t.me/AddisstandardEng), read 2026-10-20 (daily posts incl. June 2026 coverage; post on JAKENN's court challenge and injunction request against the EMA decision; links to addisstandard.com articles and to x.com/addisstandard)
How does it travel?
Distribution
Nothing disclosed
- Distribution partners
- Not disclosed
Who is connected?
Networks
Nothing disclosed
- Sister outlets in the same group
- Not disclosed
- Documented public-office or party roles
- Not disclosed
Change history
| Version | Date | What changed |
|---|---|---|
| 1 | 4 November 2026 | First published |
Need the full picture?
This passport is the public summary. Our researchers can trace full ownership chains, funding, distribution and networks behind this organisation.
Commission an analysis