Media Foundation for West Africa
- Legal name
- The Media Foundation for West Africa
- Country
- Ghana
- Type
- Civil society organisation
- Founded
- Not disclosed
- Director or chair
- Sulemana Braimah (Executive Director)
- Claim
- Not claimed by the organisation
- Last verified
- 27 April 2026
0 of 5 layers verified
Transparency
Open
6 of 6 key disclosures on record, 0 of them checked by our researchers.
- Legal name on record, not yet checked
- Who leads it on record, not yet checked
- How it is funded on record, not yet checked
- Named funders on record, not yet checked
- Public contact address on record, not yet checked
- Official websites and accounts on record, not yet checked
The organisation has not claimed this passport. It is built from public records; every fact shows its source and whether a researcher has checked it. Something wrong? Report it · Represent this organisation? Claim the passport
Who is it?
Origin
Partly verified
- Brand names Verified
- MFWA
- Registration number
- Not disclosed
- Registered address Pending check
- FA 678 Aar-Baakor Street, Ogbojo, Adentan Municipality, Accra, Ghana (address published by MFWA)
- Public contact email Pending check
- info@mfwa.org
2 sources
- MFWA staff page 'Sulemana Braimah', modified 12 March 2026, read 2026-10-20 (Executive Director since 2014; NGOsource equivalency determination as equivalent of a US 501(c)(3) public charity; UN ECOSOC consultative status; ECOWAS civil-society partner under MoU)
- MFWA 'Funding Partners' page, footer (c) 2026, read 2026-10-20 (funder logos and links; footer name The Media Foundation for West Africa; address FA 678 Aar-Baakor Street, Ogbojo, Adentan Municipality, Accra; info@mfwa.org; social links)
Who stands behind it?
Control
Nothing disclosed
- Founders or members with control
- Not disclosed
- Beneficial owners
- Not disclosed
- State or public-body ownership
- Not disclosed
- Network or umbrella organisation
- Not disclosed
Who pays?
Money
Not yet verified
- Income mix
- Not disclosed
- Named funders and donors Pending check
Funder Type Note William and Flora Hewlett Foundation Foundation USD 750,000 general operating support awarded 25 September 2019, 36 months; also on MFWA funding-partners page Open Society Foundations / Open Society Initiative for West Africa (OSIWA) Foundation logo on MFWA funding-partners page STAR-Ghana Other logo on MFWA funding-partners page DW Akademie Other logo on MFWA funding-partners page UNESCO Other logo on MFWA funding-partners page IFEX Other logo on MFWA funding-partners page Oxfam IBIS Other logo on MFWA funding-partners page Access Now Other logo on MFWA funding-partners page Global Partners Digital Other logo on MFWA funding-partners page Government of Canada Government or public body "Canada" logo on MFWA funding-partners page European Union Government or public body logo on MFWA funding-partners page World Wide Web Foundation Foundation logo on MFWA funding-partners page Government of France Government or public body "France" logo on MFWA funding-partners page Embassy of the Kingdom of the Netherlands Government or public body logo on MFWA funding-partners page MTN Ghana Company logo on MFWA funding-partners page
2 sources
- MFWA 'Funding Partners' page, footer (c) 2026, read 2026-10-20 (funder logos and links; footer name The Media Foundation for West Africa; address FA 678 Aar-Baakor Street, Ogbojo, Adentan Municipality, Accra; info@mfwa.org; social links)
- William and Flora Hewlett Foundation grants database, grant to Media Foundation for West Africa, read 2026-10-20 (USD 750,000 general operating support awarded 25 September 2019, 36 months)
Where does it appear?
Channels
Partly verified
- Official websites Verified
- Official social accounts Pending check
Platform Link Facebook facebook.com/themfwa/ X x.com/TheMFWA Instagram instagram.com/themfwa/ LinkedIn linkedin.com/company/media-foundation-for-west-africa-mfwa-/ TikTok tiktok.com/@themfwa
Who is connected?
Networks
Nothing disclosed
- Documented public-office or party roles
- Not disclosed
Change history
| Version | Date | What changed |
|---|---|---|
| 2 | 20 October 2026 | Updated from research database (Origin, Money, Channels) |
| 1 | 19 October 2026 | First published |
Need the full picture?
This passport is the public summary. Our researchers can trace full ownership chains, funding, distribution and networks behind this organisation.
Commission an analysis