Daily Graphic
- Legal name
- Graphic Communications Group Limited
- Country
- Ghana
- Type
- Newspaper
- Founded
- 1950
- Editor-in-chief
- Not disclosed
- Claim
- Not claimed by the organisation
- Last verified
- 27 April 2026
1 of 6 layers verified
Transparency
Partial
3 of 6 key disclosures on record, 1 of them checked by our researchers.
- Legal name and registration number not disclosed
- Owners with influence on record, not yet checked
- Beneficial owners (the people behind the companies) not applicable
- State or public-body ownership stated on record, not yet checked
- State advertising or revenue mix not disclosed
- Public contact address not disclosed
- Official websites and accounts verified
- State-owned
Represent this organisation? Add legal name and registration number, state advertising or revenue mix, public contact address and the level moves up. Claim and complete
The organisation has not claimed this passport. It is built from public records; every fact shows its source and whether a researcher has checked it. Something wrong? Report it · Represent this organisation? Claim the passport
Who is it?
Origin
Partly verified
- Brand names Pending check
- Daily Graphic
- Company registration number
- Not disclosed
- Registered address Pending check
- No. 3 Graphic Road
- Public contact email
- Not disclosed
3 sources
- State Interests and Governance Authority (SIGA), entity page 'Graphic Communications Group Limited', read 2026-10-19 (entity type SOE, sector Communications; originally West African Graphic Company Limited, founded 1950; acquired by the Government of Ghana from its private owners in 1962 by an Act of Parliament; statutory corporation under the Graphic Corporation Instrument, 1971 (LI 709); converted in 1999 to a limited liability company under the Companies Code, 1963 (Act 179) via the Statutory Corporations (Conversion to Companies) Act, 1993 (Act 461); address No. 3 Graphic Road; CEO Ato Afful)
- Graphic Communications Group Ltd, corporate 'About us', read 2026-10-19 (Graphic Communications Group Ltd (GCGL), originally West African Graphic Company Limited, founded 1950 on the Gold Coast by the Daily Mirror Group; publishes the Daily Graphic and The Mirror; Managing Director Mr. Ato Afful)
- State Media Monitor (MJRC), profile 'Graphic Communications Group Limited (GCGL)', published 26 May 2026, updated 28 May 2026, read 2026-10-19 (wholly state-owned, Ministry of Finance the registered owner, 100%; first Daily Graphic 2 Oct 1950; acquired by the state 1962; commercial model, no routine state subsidy, losses FY2020-2024 per SIGA 2024 State Ownership Report; MD Ato Afful; titles Daily Graphic, The Mirror, Graphic Business, Graphic Sports, Graphic Showbiz, Junior Graphic, online portal graphic.com.gh)
Who stands behind it?
Control
Not yet verified
- Owners with influence Pending check
Owner Share % Holding Owner type Government of Ghana (Ministry of Finance as registered owner) 100% Direct State or public body - Beneficial owners
- Not disclosed
- State or public-body ownership Pending check
- Fully state-owned
- Parent group Pending check
- Graphic Communications Group Limited (state-owned enterprise; Government of Ghana, Ministry of Finance as registered owner; board appointed by the National Media Commission under Article 168)
3 sources
- State Interests and Governance Authority (SIGA), entity page 'Graphic Communications Group Limited', read 2026-10-19 (entity type SOE, sector Communications; originally West African Graphic Company Limited, founded 1950; acquired by the Government of Ghana from its private owners in 1962 by an Act of Parliament; statutory corporation under the Graphic Corporation Instrument, 1971 (LI 709); converted in 1999 to a limited liability company under the Companies Code, 1963 (Act 179) via the Statutory Corporations (Conversion to Companies) Act, 1993 (Act 461); address No. 3 Graphic Road; CEO Ato Afful)
- State Media Monitor (MJRC), profile 'Graphic Communications Group Limited (GCGL)', published 26 May 2026, updated 28 May 2026, read 2026-10-19 (wholly state-owned, Ministry of Finance the registered owner, 100%; first Daily Graphic 2 Oct 1950; acquired by the state 1962; commercial model, no routine state subsidy, losses FY2020-2024 per SIGA 2024 State Ownership Report; MD Ato Afful; titles Daily Graphic, The Mirror, Graphic Business, Graphic Sports, Graphic Showbiz, Junior Graphic, online portal graphic.com.gh)
- GBC, 'NMC appoints new boards for state-owned media organisations', 20 Aug 2026, read 2026-10-19 (NMC appointed a new board for Graphic Communications Group Ltd (GCGL), chair Samuel Kweku Hayford, under Article 168 of the Constitution and Act 449, in consultation with the President)
Who pays?
Money
Nothing disclosed
- State advertising and foreign public funding
- Not disclosed
- Revenue mix
- Not disclosed
- Named funders
- Not disclosed
Where does it appear?
Channels
Verified
- Official websites Verified
- Official social accounts
- Not disclosed
How does it travel?
Distribution
Nothing disclosed
- Distribution partners
- Not disclosed
Who is connected?
Networks
Not yet verified
- Sister outlets in the same group Pending check
- The Mirror
- Graphic Business
- Graphic Sports
- Graphic Showbiz
- Junior Graphic
- Documented public-office or party roles
- Not disclosed
2 sources
- State Media Monitor (MJRC), profile 'Graphic Communications Group Limited (GCGL)', published 26 May 2026, updated 28 May 2026, read 2026-10-19 (wholly state-owned, Ministry of Finance the registered owner, 100%; first Daily Graphic 2 Oct 1950; acquired by the state 1962; commercial model, no routine state subsidy, losses FY2020-2024 per SIGA 2024 State Ownership Report; MD Ato Afful; titles Daily Graphic, The Mirror, Graphic Business, Graphic Sports, Graphic Showbiz, Junior Graphic, online portal graphic.com.gh)
- Graphic Communications Group Ltd, corporate 'About us', read 2026-10-19 (Graphic Communications Group Ltd (GCGL), originally West African Graphic Company Limited, founded 1950 on the Gold Coast by the Daily Mirror Group; publishes the Daily Graphic and The Mirror; Managing Director Mr. Ato Afful)
Change history
| Version | Date | What changed |
|---|---|---|
| 2 | 20 October 2026 | Updated from research database (Origin, Control, Channels, Networks) |
| 1 | 19 October 2026 | First published |
Need the full picture?
This passport is the public summary. Our researchers can trace full ownership chains, funding, distribution and networks behind this organisation.
Commission an analysis