Sri Lanka Broadcasting Corporation
- Legal name
- Sri Lanka Broadcasting Corporation
- Country
- Sri Lanka
- Type
- Radio
- Founded
- 1967
- Editor-in-chief
- Uditha Gayashan Gunasekara (Chairman)
- Claim
- Not claimed by the organisation
- Last verified
- 14 August 2026
1 of 6 layers verified
Transparency
Partial
4 of 6 key disclosures on record, 1 of them checked by our researchers.
- Legal name and registration number not disclosed
- Owners with influence on record, not yet checked
- Beneficial owners (the people behind the companies) not applicable
- State or public-body ownership stated on record, not yet checked
- State advertising or revenue mix on record, not yet checked
- Public contact address not disclosed
- Official websites and accounts verified
- State-owned
Represent this organisation? Add legal name and registration number, public contact address and the level moves up. Claim and complete
The organisation has not claimed this passport. It is built from public records; every fact shows its source and whether a researcher has checked it. Something wrong? Report it · Represent this organisation? Claim the passport
Who is it?
Origin
Partly verified
- Brand names Pending check
- Swadeshiya Sevaya
- City FM
- Thamil Sevai
- Thendral FM
- Radio Sri Lanka
- Company registration number
- Not disclosed
- Registered address
- Not disclosed
- Public contact email
- Not disclosed
2 sources
- Ministry of Mass Media, Sri Lanka, 'SLBC celebrates 100 years of pioneering radio', 16 December 2025, read 2026-10-19 (SLBC listed among the Ministry's institutions; Radio Ceylon 1 October 1949; Sri Lanka Broadcasting Corporation from 5 January 1967 with Neville D. Jayaweera as first Chairman and Director General; domestic, foreign and regional services; Ministry institutions also listed: Sri Lanka Rupavahini (TV) Corporation, Independent Television Network, Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Ltd, Lankapuvath Ltd)
- State Media Monitor, 'Sri Lanka Broadcasting Corporation (SLBC)', 30 July 2026, updated 4 August 2026, read 2026-10-19 (secondary: state-owned statutory corporation under the SLBC Act, predecessor Ceylon Broadcasting Corporation Act No. 37 of 1966; Ministry of Mass Media; Chairman Prof. Uditha Gayashan Gunasekara, appointed 24 September 2024, in post July 2026; 2023 audited: sales LKR 667.94m, other operating income LKR 391.96m, Treasury transfer LKR 300m (capitalised), grant amortisation LKR 69.51m, state finance about 27% of income, loss after tax LKR 542.92m)
Who stands behind it?
Control
Not yet verified
- Owners with influence Pending check
Owner Share % Holding Owner type Government of Sri Lanka 100% Direct State or public body - Beneficial owners
- Not disclosed
- State or public-body ownership Pending check
- Fully state-owned
- Parent group Pending check
- Ministry of Mass Media (Sri Lanka)
2 sources
- Ministry of Mass Media, Sri Lanka, 'SLBC celebrates 100 years of pioneering radio', 16 December 2025, read 2026-10-19 (SLBC listed among the Ministry's institutions; Radio Ceylon 1 October 1949; Sri Lanka Broadcasting Corporation from 5 January 1967 with Neville D. Jayaweera as first Chairman and Director General; domestic, foreign and regional services; Ministry institutions also listed: Sri Lanka Rupavahini (TV) Corporation, Independent Television Network, Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Ltd, Lankapuvath Ltd)
- State Media Monitor, 'Sri Lanka Broadcasting Corporation (SLBC)', 30 July 2026, updated 4 August 2026, read 2026-10-19 (secondary: state-owned statutory corporation under the SLBC Act, predecessor Ceylon Broadcasting Corporation Act No. 37 of 1966; Ministry of Mass Media; Chairman Prof. Uditha Gayashan Gunasekara, appointed 24 September 2024, in post July 2026; 2023 audited: sales LKR 667.94m, other operating income LKR 391.96m, Treasury transfer LKR 300m (capitalised), grant amortisation LKR 69.51m, state finance about 27% of income, loss after tax LKR 542.92m)
Who pays?
Money
Not yet verified
- State advertising and foreign public funding
- Not disclosed
- Revenue mix Pending check
Source Share of revenue Public funding 25 to 50% - Named funders
- Not disclosed
Where does it appear?
Channels
Verified
- Official websites Verified
- Official social accounts
- Not disclosed
1 source
- Input master list Q041-WORLD-media-LB-LK-MA-MG.csv (MPMONITOR master, updated 2026-08-14; domain as listed in input)
How does it travel?
Distribution
Nothing disclosed
- Distribution partners
- Not disclosed
Who is connected?
Networks
Nothing disclosed
- Sister outlets in the same group
- Not disclosed
- Documented public-office or party roles
- Not disclosed
Change history
| Version | Date | What changed |
|---|---|---|
| 2 | 20 October 2026 | Updated from research database (Origin, Control, Money, Channels) |
| 1 | 19 October 2026 | First published |
Need the full picture?
This passport is the public summary. Our researchers can trace full ownership chains, funding, distribution and networks behind this organisation.
Commission an analysis