Vipps
- Legal name
- VIPPS MOBILEPAY AS
- Country
- Norway
- Type
- Platform or infrastructure
- Founded
- 2017
- Chief executive
- Not disclosed
- Claim
- Not claimed by the organisation
- Last verified
- 1 March 2026
1 of 5 layers verified
Transparency
Limited
3 of 7 key disclosures on record, 1 of them checked by our researchers.
- Legal name and registration number on record, not yet checked
- Owners with influence on record, not yet checked
- Beneficial owners (the people behind the companies) not disclosed
- State or public-body ownership stated not disclosed
- Revenue mix or named funders not disclosed
- Public contact address not disclosed
- Official websites and accounts verified
- People behind the owning companies not disclosed
Represent this organisation? Add beneficial owners (the people behind the companies), state or public-body ownership stated, revenue mix or named funders, public contact address and the level moves up. Claim and complete
The organisation has not claimed this passport. It is built from public records; every fact shows its source and whether a researcher has checked it. Something wrong? Report it · Represent this organisation? Claim the passport
Who is it?
Origin
Partly verified
- Brand names Pending check
- Vipps
- MobilePay
- Company registration number Pending check
- Org.nr 918 713 867
- Registered address Pending check
- Dronning Eufemias gate 11, 0150 Oslo
- Public contact email
- Not disclosed
2 sources
- topograph.co (cached data from the Norwegian business register, updated 14 Oct 2026), read 2026-10-19 (VIPPS MOBILEPAY AS, org.nr 918713867, aksjeselskap, Dronning Eufemias gate 11, 0150 Oslo; registered 1 Mar 2017; active)
- Finanstilsynet, inspection report to the board of Vipps AS (ref. 21/808), 20 Oct 2021, read 2026-10-19 (Vipps AS is a payment institution ('betalingsforetak'); BankAxept AS and BankID Norge AS merged into Vipps by Finance Ministry decision of 14 June 2018, separation planned; subsidiary Vipps Mobil AS; agreement of 30 June 2021 to merge the wallet with Danish and Finnish equivalents)
Who stands behind it?
Control
Not yet verified
- Owners with influence Pending check
Owner Holding Owner type DNB Bank ASA Direct Company SpareBank 1 Betaling AS Direct Company Eika VBB AS Direct Company Balder Betaling AS Direct Company Danske Bank A/S Direct Company - Beneficial owners
- Not disclosed
- State or public-body ownership
- Not disclosed
- Parent group Pending check
- Joint control by DNB Bank ASA, SpareBank 1 Betaling AS, Eika VBB AS, Balder Betaling AS and Danske Bank A/S (2022 EU merger notification)
2 sources
- European Commission, case M.10398 DNB / DANSKE BANK / OP / SB1 / EIKA / BALDER / VIPPS / MOBILEPAY / PIVO, Form CO section 1.2 (notifying parties' description, 2022), read 2026-10-19 ('The Merged Entity will be jointly controlled by DNB Bank ASA, SpareBank 1 Betaling AS, Eika VBB AS and Balder Betaling AS', together with Danske Bank A/S (controlling owner of MobilePay) and OP Cooperative (controlling owner of Pivo); no percentages)
- Konkurransetilsynet, public version of merger notification Vipps AS / BankAxept AS / BankID Norge AS, dated 15 Jan 2018, read 2026-10-19 (Vipps AS org.nr 918 713 867: DNB Bank ASA 51.48%, SpareBank 1 Betaling AS 24.75%, Balder Betaling AS 11.88%, Eika Gruppen AS 10.01%, Sparebanken Møre 1.00%; BankID Norge AS org.nr 913 851 080, 105 shareholders: DNB Bank ASA 34.33%, SpareBank 1 ID AS 20.25%, Nordea 11.83%, Danske Bank 3.85%, Sparebanken Vest 2.92%, Handelsbanken 2.42%; no shareholder may own more than 40%; BankAxept and BankID to merge into Vipps AS)
Who pays?
Money
Nothing disclosed
- Revenue mix
- Not disclosed
- Named investors and funders
- Not disclosed
Where does it appear?
Channels
Verified
- Official websites Verified
- Official social accounts
- Not disclosed
Who is connected?
Networks
Nothing disclosed
- Other services of the same group
- Not disclosed
- Documented public-office or party roles
- Not disclosed
Change history
| Version | Date | What changed |
|---|---|---|
| 2 | 20 October 2026 | Updated from research database (Origin, Control) |
| 1 | 19 October 2026 | First published |
Need the full picture?
This passport is the public summary. Our researchers can trace full ownership chains, funding, distribution and networks behind this organisation.
Commission an analysis