Electoral Commission
- Legal name
- Electoral Commission – Te Kaitiaki Take Kōwhiri
- Country
- New Zealand
- Type
- Regulator
- Founded
- Not disclosed
- Head
- Hon Simon Moore KC (Chair)
- Claim
- Not claimed by the organisation
- Last verified
- Not yet
0 of 5 layers verified
Transparency
Open
6 of 6 key disclosures on record, 0 of them checked by our researchers.
- Legal name on record, not yet checked
- Who leads it on record, not yet checked
- How it is funded on record, not yet checked
- Legal basis or parent body on record, not yet checked
- Public contact address on record, not yet checked
- Official websites and accounts on record, not yet checked
- Public body
The organisation has not claimed this passport. It is built from public records; every fact shows its source and whether a researcher has checked it. Something wrong? Report it · Represent this organisation? Claim the passport
Needs update: this passport has not been fully verified yet.
Who is it?
Origin
Not yet verified
- Brand names Pending check
- Electoral Commission
- Te Kaitiaki Take Kōwhiri
- Registration number Pending check
- (Independent Crown entity established by the Electoral Act 1993)
- Registered address Pending check
- Level 4, 34-42 Manners Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand (postal: PO Box 3220, Wellington)
- Public contact email Pending check
- enquiries@elections.govt.nz
2 sources
- Electoral Commission, Statement of Performance Expectations 2026/27 (June 2026, PDF on elections.nz), read 2026-10-20 (The Electoral Commission, Te Kaitiaki Take Kōwhiri; independent Crown entity established by the Electoral Act 1993; Board: Hon Simon Moore KC (Chair), Jane Meares (Deputy Chair), Karl Le Quesne (Chief Electoral Officer and Chief Executive); Ministry of Justice is monitoring department; forecast 2026/27 revenue ($000): Crown revenue for electoral services (Vote Justice) 169,369, broadcasting allocation 3,605, total Crown revenue 172,974, other output revenue 720, international assistance programme 2,124, interest 600, other 120, total 175,818; PO Box 3220, Wellington; enquiries@elections.govt.nz)
- govt.nz directory, 'Electoral Commission' (page last updated 9 April 2021), read 2026-10-20 (Te Kaitiaki Take Kōwhiri; independent Crown entity; Karl Le Quesne Chief Electoral Officer and Chief Executive; Board Chair Hon Simon Moore KC; Level 4, 34-42 Manners Street, Wellington 6011; website vote.nz)
Who stands behind it?
Control
Not yet verified
- Owner or founding authority Pending check
Owner Holding Owner type New Zealand Crown (independent Crown entity; Ministry of Justice is the monitoring department) Direct State or public body - State or public-body ownership Pending check
- Fully state-owned
- Answers to Pending check
- Minister of Justice / Ministry of Justice (monitoring department), New Zealand Government
Who pays?
Money
Not yet verified
- How it is funded Pending check
Source Share of revenue State budget Over 50% Fees, levies and own income Under 10% - Budget and funding bodies Pending check
Funder Type Note New Zealand Crown – Vote Justice Government or public body forecast Crown revenue 2026/27 NZ$172.974m (electoral services NZ$169.369m incl. Election Access Fund; broadcasting allocation NZ$3.605m) of total NZ$175.818m
Where does it appear?
Channels
Not yet verified
- Official websites Pending check
- Official social accounts
- Not disclosed
2 sources
- Electoral Commission, Statement of Performance Expectations 2026/27 (June 2026, PDF on elections.nz), read 2026-10-20 (The Electoral Commission, Te Kaitiaki Take Kōwhiri; independent Crown entity established by the Electoral Act 1993; Board: Hon Simon Moore KC (Chair), Jane Meares (Deputy Chair), Karl Le Quesne (Chief Electoral Officer and Chief Executive); Ministry of Justice is monitoring department; forecast 2026/27 revenue ($000): Crown revenue for electoral services (Vote Justice) 169,369, broadcasting allocation 3,605, total Crown revenue 172,974, other output revenue 720, international assistance programme 2,124, interest 600, other 120, total 175,818; PO Box 3220, Wellington; enquiries@elections.govt.nz)
- govt.nz directory, 'Electoral Commission' (page last updated 9 April 2021), read 2026-10-20 (Te Kaitiaki Take Kōwhiri; independent Crown entity; Karl Le Quesne Chief Electoral Officer and Chief Executive; Board Chair Hon Simon Moore KC; Level 4, 34-42 Manners Street, Wellington 6011; website vote.nz)
Who is connected?
Networks
Nothing disclosed
- Agencies and funds under it
- Not disclosed
- Public-office or party roles of board members
- Not disclosed
Change history
| Version | Date | What changed |
|---|---|---|
| 1 | 4 November 2026 | First published |
Need the full picture?
This passport is the public summary. Our researchers can trace full ownership chains, funding, distribution and networks behind this organisation.
Commission an analysis