Public Investment Fund
- Legal name
- Public Investment Fund
- Country
- Saudi Arabia
- Type
- Business or financial institution
- Founded
- 1971
- Chief executive
- Mohammed bin Salman (Chairman of the Board)
- Claim
- Not claimed by the organisation
- Last verified
- 14 August 2026
1 of 5 layers verified
Transparency
Partial
4 of 6 key disclosures on record, 1 of them checked by our researchers.
- Legal name and registration number not disclosed
- Owners with influence on record, not yet checked
- Beneficial owners (the people behind the companies) not applicable
- State or public-body ownership stated on record, not yet checked
- Revenue mix or named funders on record, not yet checked
- Public contact address not disclosed
- Official websites and accounts verified
- State-owned
- Owners or executives hold or held political office
Represent this organisation? Add legal name and registration number, public contact address and the level moves up. Claim and complete
The organisation has not claimed this passport. It is built from public records; every fact shows its source and whether a researcher has checked it. Something wrong? Report it · Represent this organisation? Claim the passport
Who is it?
Origin
Partly verified
- Brand names Verified
- PIF
- Company registration number
- Not disclosed
- Registered address
- Not disclosed
- Public contact email
- Not disclosed
Who stands behind it?
Control
Not yet verified
- Owners with influence Pending check
Owner Share % Holding Owner type Kingdom of Saudi Arabia 100% Direct State or public body - Beneficial owners
- Not disclosed
- State or public-body ownership Pending check
- Fully state-owned
- Parent group Pending check
- Council of Economic and Development Affairs (Kingdom of Saudi Arabia)
2 sources
- Public Investment Fund Law (English text published by PIF), read 2026-10-20 (Art. 2: the Fund has a public legal personality and financial and administrative independence, is linked to the Council of Economic and Development Affairs, head office in Riyadh; Art. 5: board chaired by the President of the Council of Economic and Development Affairs, with the Governor and at least four experts appointed by royal order; Art. 10: the Governor has the rank of minister; Art. 20: revenues from returns on assets and investments, state appropriations and borrowed funds; Art. 31: supersedes the PIF Law issued by Royal Decree No. M/24 dated 25/6/1391H)
- Public Investment Fund newswire, 'HRH Crown Prince announces completion of the transfer of 4% of state-owned shares in Saudi Aramco', 16 April 2023, read 2026-10-20 (4% of Aramco's issued shares transferred from the State to the Saudi Arabian Investment Company (Sanabil Investments), fully owned by PIF; the State remains the largest shareholder with 90.18%; Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman, Prime Minister, is Chairman of PIF's Board)
Who pays?
Money
Not yet verified
- Revenue mix
- Not disclosed
- Named investors and funders Pending check
Funder Type Note Government of Saudi Arabia Government or public body state appropriations (cash and in-kind) are one of the Fund's revenue sources under PIF Law Art. 20, alongside investment returns and borrowing
Where does it appear?
Channels
Verified
- Official websites Verified
- Official social accounts
- Not disclosed
Who is connected?
Networks
Not yet verified
- Related companies in the same group Pending check
- Saudi Arabian Investment Company (Sanabil Investments)
- Documented public-office or party roles Pending check
- On file; available on request. Request the full record
2 sources
- Public Investment Fund Law (English text published by PIF), read 2026-10-20 (Art. 2: the Fund has a public legal personality and financial and administrative independence, is linked to the Council of Economic and Development Affairs, head office in Riyadh; Art. 5: board chaired by the President of the Council of Economic and Development Affairs, with the Governor and at least four experts appointed by royal order; Art. 10: the Governor has the rank of minister; Art. 20: revenues from returns on assets and investments, state appropriations and borrowed funds; Art. 31: supersedes the PIF Law issued by Royal Decree No. M/24 dated 25/6/1391H)
- Public Investment Fund newswire, 'HRH Crown Prince announces completion of the transfer of 4% of state-owned shares in Saudi Aramco', 16 April 2023, read 2026-10-20 (4% of Aramco's issued shares transferred from the State to the Saudi Arabian Investment Company (Sanabil Investments), fully owned by PIF; the State remains the largest shareholder with 90.18%; Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman, Prime Minister, is Chairman of PIF's Board)
Change history
| Version | Date | What changed |
|---|---|---|
| 2 | 20 October 2026 | Updated from research database (Origin, Control, Money, Channels, Networks) |
| 1 | 19 October 2026 | First published |
Need the full picture?
This passport is the public summary. Our researchers can trace full ownership chains, funding, distribution and networks behind this organisation.
Commission an analysis