Committee to Protect Journalists
- Legal name
- Committee To Protect Journalists Inc
- Country
- United States
- Type
- Civil society organisation
- Founded
- Not disclosed
- Director or chair
- Jodie Ginsberg (CEO)
- Claim
- Not claimed by the organisation
- Last verified
- 14 August 2026
0 of 5 layers verified
Transparency
Partial
4 of 6 key disclosures on record, 0 of them checked by our researchers.
- Legal name on record, not yet checked
- Who leads it on record, not yet checked
- How it is funded on record, not yet checked
- Named funders not disclosed
- Public contact address not disclosed
- Official websites and accounts on record, not yet checked
Represent this organisation? Add named funders, public contact address and the level moves up. Claim and complete
The organisation has not claimed this passport. It is built from public records; every fact shows its source and whether a researcher has checked it. Something wrong? Report it · Represent this organisation? Claim the passport
Who is it?
Origin
Partly verified
- Brand names Pending check
- Committee to Protect Journalists
- CPJ
- Registration number Pending check
- EIN 13-3081500 (IRS, 501(c)(3))
- Registered address Pending check
- The John S. and James L. Knight Foundation Press Freedom Center, P.O. Box 2675, New York, NY 10108, USA (mailing address published by CPJ)
- Public contact email
- Not disclosed
2 sources
- ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer (data from IRS Form 990 filings), 'Committee To Protect Journalists Inc', read 2026-10-20 (EIN 13-3081500; New York, NY; 501(c)(3), tax exemption issued Feb 1982; Form 990 for FY ending Dec 2024: total revenue USD 12,270,000, contributions 11,452,025 (93.3%), investment income 771,922, other revenue 46,483; CEO Jodie Ginsberg; board chair Jacob Weisberg, vice chair Lydia Polgreen)
- cpj.org, 'CPJ gift acceptance guidelines', read 2026-10-20 ('We do not take government money and we never will'; CPJ funded by contributions from individuals, corporations, foundations and multilateral funding organizations; address The John S. and James L. Knight Foundation Press Freedom Center, P.O. Box 2675, New York, NY 10108; YouTube, Facebook, X, Instagram links)
Who stands behind it?
Control
Not yet verified
- Founders or members with control
- Not disclosed
- Beneficial owners
- Not disclosed
- State or public-body ownership Pending check
- None
- Network or umbrella organisation
- Not disclosed
2 sources
- ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer (data from IRS Form 990 filings), 'Committee To Protect Journalists Inc', read 2026-10-20 (EIN 13-3081500; New York, NY; 501(c)(3), tax exemption issued Feb 1982; Form 990 for FY ending Dec 2024: total revenue USD 12,270,000, contributions 11,452,025 (93.3%), investment income 771,922, other revenue 46,483; CEO Jodie Ginsberg; board chair Jacob Weisberg, vice chair Lydia Polgreen)
- cpj.org, 'CPJ gift acceptance guidelines', read 2026-10-20 ('We do not take government money and we never will'; CPJ funded by contributions from individuals, corporations, foundations and multilateral funding organizations; address The John S. and James L. Knight Foundation Press Freedom Center, P.O. Box 2675, New York, NY 10108; YouTube, Facebook, X, Instagram links)
Who pays?
Money
Not yet verified
- Income mix Pending check
Source Share of revenue Grants and donations Over 50% Other income Under 10% - Named funders and donors
- Not disclosed
2 sources
- ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer (data from IRS Form 990 filings), 'Committee To Protect Journalists Inc', read 2026-10-20 (EIN 13-3081500; New York, NY; 501(c)(3), tax exemption issued Feb 1982; Form 990 for FY ending Dec 2024: total revenue USD 12,270,000, contributions 11,452,025 (93.3%), investment income 771,922, other revenue 46,483; CEO Jodie Ginsberg; board chair Jacob Weisberg, vice chair Lydia Polgreen)
- cpj.org, 'CPJ gift acceptance guidelines', read 2026-10-20 ('We do not take government money and we never will'; CPJ funded by contributions from individuals, corporations, foundations and multilateral funding organizations; address The John S. and James L. Knight Foundation Press Freedom Center, P.O. Box 2675, New York, NY 10108; YouTube, Facebook, X, Instagram links)
Where does it appear?
Channels
Partly verified
- Official websites Verified
- Official social accounts Pending check
Who is connected?
Networks
Nothing disclosed
- Documented public-office or party roles
- Not disclosed
Change history
| Version | Date | What changed |
|---|---|---|
| 2 | 20 October 2026 | Updated from research database (Origin, Control, Money, Channels) |
| 1 | 19 October 2026 | First published |
Need the full picture?
This passport is the public summary. Our researchers can trace full ownership chains, funding, distribution and networks behind this organisation.
Commission an analysis