Absa Group Limited
- Legal name
- Absa Group Limited
- Country
- South Africa
- Type
- Business or financial institution
- Founded
- 1986
- Chief executive
- K A Fihla (Chief Executive Officer)
- Claim
- Not claimed by the organisation
- Last verified
- 27 April 2026
1 of 5 layers verified
Transparency
Limited
3 of 7 key disclosures on record, 1 of them checked by our researchers.
- Legal name and registration number on record, not yet checked
- Owners with influence not disclosed
- Beneficial owners (the people behind the companies) not disclosed
- State or public-body ownership stated not disclosed
- Revenue mix or named funders not disclosed
- Public contact address on record, not yet checked
- Official websites and accounts verified
- Owners not disclosed
Represent this organisation? Add owners with influence, beneficial owners (the people behind the companies), state or public-body ownership stated, revenue mix or named funders and the level moves up. Claim and complete
The organisation has not claimed this passport. It is built from public records; every fact shows its source and whether a researcher has checked it. Something wrong? Report it · Represent this organisation? Claim the passport
Who is it?
Origin
Partly verified
- Brand names Pending check
- Absa
- Company registration number Pending check
- CIPC 1986/003934/06
- Registered address
- Not disclosed
- Public contact email Pending check
- ir@absa.africa
2 sources
- Profile's Stock Exchange Handbook 2025 Issue 4, page 71 (sharedata.co.za; data from JSE listing/company filings), read 2026-10-20 (Absa Group Ltd.: REG NO 1986/003934/06; JSE code ABG; FOUNDED 1986, LISTED 1986; postal address PO Box 7735, Johannesburg, 2000; email ir@absa.africa; website www.absa.africa; CEO K A Fihla, Chair R van Wyk; ORDINARY SHAREHOLDERS as at 2 Sep 2025: M&G Investments (UK & ZA) 5.72%, CitiGroup 5.07%, Other 82.09%; 36 779 employees)
- South African Reserve Bank, Prudential Authority, 'Locally controlled Banks as at 25 Jan 2025' (regulator's list of registered banks), read 2026-10-20 (Absa Bank Limited c/o Absa Group Limited, P O Box 7735, Johannesburg; African Bank Limited, 59 - 16th Road, Midrand 1685, CEO Kennedy Bungane; Capitec Bank Limited, 5 Neutron Road, Techno Park, Stellenbosch 7600, CEO Gerrie Fourie; Discovery Bank Limited, 1 Discovery Place, Sandhurst, Sandton 2146, CEO Hylton Kallner)
Who stands behind it?
Control
Nothing disclosed
- Owners with influence
- Not disclosed
- Beneficial owners
- Not disclosed
- State or public-body ownership
- Not disclosed
- Parent group
- Not disclosed
Who pays?
Money
Nothing disclosed
- Revenue mix
- Not disclosed
- Named investors and funders
- Not disclosed
Where does it appear?
Channels
Verified
- Official websites Verified
- Official social accounts
- Not disclosed
Who is connected?
Networks
Nothing disclosed
- Related companies in the same group
- Not disclosed
- Documented public-office or party roles
- Not disclosed
Change history
| Version | Date | What changed |
|---|---|---|
| 2 | 20 October 2026 | Updated from research database (Origin, Channels) |
| 1 | 19 October 2026 | First published |
Need the full picture?
This passport is the public summary. Our researchers can trace full ownership chains, funding, distribution and networks behind this organisation.
Commission an analysis