African Bank
- Legal name
- African Bank Limited
- Country
- South Africa
- Type
- Business or financial institution
- Founded
- Not disclosed
- Chief executive
- Kennedy Bungane (Chief Executive Officer)
- Claim
- Not claimed by the organisation
- Last verified
- 27 April 2026
1 of 5 layers verified
Transparency
Not yet disclosed
1 of 7 key disclosures on record, 1 of them checked by our researchers.
- Legal name and registration number not disclosed
- Owners with influence not disclosed
- Beneficial owners (the people behind the companies) not disclosed
- State or public-body ownership stated not disclosed
- Revenue mix or named funders not disclosed
- Public contact address not disclosed
- Official websites and accounts verified
- Owners not disclosed
Represent this organisation? Add legal name and registration number, owners with influence, beneficial owners (the people behind the companies), state or public-body ownership stated, revenue mix or named funders, public contact address and the level moves up. Claim and complete
The organisation has not claimed this passport. It is built from public records; every fact shows its source and whether a researcher has checked it. Something wrong? Report it · Represent this organisation? Claim the passport
Who is it?
Origin
Partly verified
- Brand names Pending check
- African Bank
- Company registration number
- Not disclosed
- Registered address Pending check
- 59 - 16th Road, Midrand 1685 (address in the SARB bank list)
- Public contact email
- Not disclosed
2 sources
- South African Reserve Bank, Prudential Authority, 'Locally controlled Banks as at 25 Jan 2025' (regulator's list of registered banks), read 2026-10-20 (Absa Bank Limited c/o Absa Group Limited, P O Box 7735, Johannesburg; African Bank Limited, 59 - 16th Road, Midrand 1685, CEO Kennedy Bungane; Capitec Bank Limited, 5 Neutron Road, Techno Park, Stellenbosch 7600, CEO Gerrie Fourie; Discovery Bank Limited, 1 Discovery Place, Sandhurst, Sandton 2146, CEO Hylton Kallner)
- GLEIF LEI record 254900UUEMIK0XL5A056 via lei.bloomberg.com (data from CIPC, RA000531), last update 2026-07-30, read 2026-10-20 (African Bank Holdings Ltd; registration number 2014/176855/06; legal address 59 16th Road, Midrand, Johannesburg, Gauteng, 1685; direct and ultimate parent LEI 549300KEVMSOSY8T8R35, name not displayed, relationship since 2014-09-09)
Who stands behind it?
Control
Nothing disclosed
- Owners with influence
- Not disclosed
- Beneficial owners
- Not disclosed
- State or public-body ownership
- Not disclosed
- Parent group
- Not disclosed
Who pays?
Money
Nothing disclosed
- Revenue mix
- Not disclosed
- Named investors and funders
- Not disclosed
Where does it appear?
Channels
Verified
- Official websites Verified
- Official social accounts
- Not disclosed
Who is connected?
Networks
Nothing disclosed
- Related companies in the same group
- Not disclosed
- Documented public-office or party roles
- Not disclosed
Change history
| Version | Date | What changed |
|---|---|---|
| 2 | 20 October 2026 | Updated from research database (Origin) |
| 1 | 19 October 2026 | First published |
Need the full picture?
This passport is the public summary. Our researchers can trace full ownership chains, funding, distribution and networks behind this organisation.
Commission an analysis