Government Communication and Information System
- Legal name
- Government Communication and Information System
- Country
- South Africa
- Type
- Government or public body
- Founded
- Not disclosed
- Head
- Nomonde Mnukwa (Acting Director-General)
- Claim
- Not claimed by the organisation
- Last verified
- 27 April 2026
0 of 5 layers verified
Transparency
Partial
5 of 6 key disclosures on record, 0 of them checked by our researchers.
- Legal name on record, not yet checked
- Who leads it on record, not yet checked
- How it is funded on record, not yet checked
- Legal basis or parent body on record, not yet checked
- Public contact address not disclosed
- Official websites and accounts on record, not yet checked
- Public body
- Owners or executives hold or held political office
Represent this organisation? Add public contact address and the level moves up. Claim and complete
The organisation has not claimed this passport. It is built from public records; every fact shows its source and whether a researcher has checked it. Something wrong? Report it · Represent this organisation? Claim the passport
Who is it?
Origin
Partly verified
- Brand names Verified
- GCIS
- Registration number
- Not disclosed
- Registered address Pending check
- Tshedimosetso House, 1035 cnr Francis Baard and Festival streets, Hatfield, Pretoria, 0083
- Public contact email
- Not disclosed
2 sources
- gcis.gov.za, 'Acting Director-General', read 2026-10-20 (Acting Director-General Nomonde Mnukwa; DG is Accounting Officer under the PFMA 1999; address Tshedimosetso House, 1035 cnr Francis Baard and Festival streets, Hatfield, Pretoria, 0083; tel 012 473 0000; social accounts)
- GCIS, South Africa Yearbook 2021/22, chapter 'The Presidency', read 2026-10-20 (The Presidency supports the President and Deputy President under Chapter 5 of the Constitution; seat Union Buildings, Pretoria, subsidiary office Tuynhuys, Cape Town; GCIS transferred to The Presidency from 1 April 2020; entities reporting to The Presidency: CGE, NYDA, GCIS, Brand South Africa, MDDA, DPME; budgets: The Presidency R612.1 million in 2021/22, GCIS R757.43 million in 2021/22)
Who stands behind it?
Control
Not yet verified
- Owner or founding authority Pending check
Owner Holding Owner type The Presidency of the Republic of South Africa (GCIS transferred to The Presidency from 1 April 2020; executive authority: Minister in The Presidency) Direct State or public body - State or public-body ownership Pending check
- Fully state-owned
- Answers to Pending check
- The Presidency (Minister in The Presidency, Khumbudzo Ntshavheni)
4 sources
- gcis.gov.za, 'Acting Director-General', read 2026-10-20 (Acting Director-General Nomonde Mnukwa; DG is Accounting Officer under the PFMA 1999; address Tshedimosetso House, 1035 cnr Francis Baard and Festival streets, Hatfield, Pretoria, 0083; tel 012 473 0000; social accounts)
- SAnews (GCIS), 'Minister Ntshavheni to deliver GCIS Budget Vote', 20 May 2026, read 2026-10-20 (Khumbudzo Ntshavheni, Minister in The Presidency, tables the GCIS Budget Vote for 2026/27, which also covers Brand South Africa and the Media Development and Diversity Agency; Deputy Minister in The Presidency Kenny Morolong; footer '© 2026 Government Communication and Information System'; SAnews contacts at gcis.gov.za)
- GCIS, South Africa Yearbook 2021/22, chapter 'The Presidency', read 2026-10-20 (The Presidency supports the President and Deputy President under Chapter 5 of the Constitution; seat Union Buildings, Pretoria, subsidiary office Tuynhuys, Cape Town; GCIS transferred to The Presidency from 1 April 2020; entities reporting to The Presidency: CGE, NYDA, GCIS, Brand South Africa, MDDA, DPME; budgets: The Presidency R612.1 million in 2021/22, GCIS R757.43 million in 2021/22)
- gov.za Contact Directory, 'Profile' listing of the national executive, read 2026-10-20 (President Ramaphosa, Matamela Cyril - Presidency (The); Deputy President Mashatile, Paul Shipokosa - Presidency (The); Minister in The Presidency Ntshavheni, Khumbudzo; Deputy Ministers in The Presidency Mhlauli, Nonceba Bianca and Morolong, Kenneth; Minister of Finance Godongwana, Enoch; Deputy Ministers of Finance Masondo, David and Sarupen, Ashor Nick; Minister of Communications and Digital Technologies Malatsi, Mmoba Solomon 'Solly'; Deputy Minister Gungubele, Mondli)
Who pays?
Money
Not yet verified
- How it is funded Pending check
Source Share of revenue State budget Over 50% - Budget and funding bodies Pending check
Funder Type Note Parliament of South Africa (GCIS budget vote) Government or public body R757.43 million in 2021/22 (SA Yearbook 2021/22); 2026/27 Budget Vote tabled 20 May 2026, amount not read
3 sources
- GCIS, South Africa Yearbook 2021/22, chapter 'The Presidency', read 2026-10-20 (The Presidency supports the President and Deputy President under Chapter 5 of the Constitution; seat Union Buildings, Pretoria, subsidiary office Tuynhuys, Cape Town; GCIS transferred to The Presidency from 1 April 2020; entities reporting to The Presidency: CGE, NYDA, GCIS, Brand South Africa, MDDA, DPME; budgets: The Presidency R612.1 million in 2021/22, GCIS R757.43 million in 2021/22)
- SAnews (GCIS), 'Minister Ntshavheni to deliver GCIS Budget Vote', 20 May 2026, read 2026-10-20 (Khumbudzo Ntshavheni, Minister in The Presidency, tables the GCIS Budget Vote for 2026/27, which also covers Brand South Africa and the Media Development and Diversity Agency; Deputy Minister in The Presidency Kenny Morolong; footer '© 2026 Government Communication and Information System'; SAnews contacts at gcis.gov.za)
- presidency.gov.za, 'President Ramaphosa to table The Presidency Budget Vote 2026/2027', 2 June 2026, read 2026-10-20 (President Cyril Ramaphosa tables The Presidency Budget Vote for 2026/27 in the National Assembly; references allocations for GCIS, the State Security Agency and Statistics South Africa; no amounts given)
Where does it appear?
Channels
Not yet verified
- Official websites Pending check
- Official social accounts Pending check
Platform Link Facebook facebook.com/RSAFacts X twitter.com/gcismedia YouTube youtube.com/channel/UCeGklnZgV21ag34t1_4G4dg Flickr flickr.com/photos/governmentza/albums/ LinkedIn linkedin.com/company/governmentza
2 sources
- gcis.gov.za, 'Acting Director-General', read 2026-10-20 (Acting Director-General Nomonde Mnukwa; DG is Accounting Officer under the PFMA 1999; address Tshedimosetso House, 1035 cnr Francis Baard and Festival streets, Hatfield, Pretoria, 0083; tel 012 473 0000; social accounts)
- SAnews (GCIS), 'Minister Ntshavheni to deliver GCIS Budget Vote', 20 May 2026, read 2026-10-20 (Khumbudzo Ntshavheni, Minister in The Presidency, tables the GCIS Budget Vote for 2026/27, which also covers Brand South Africa and the Media Development and Diversity Agency; Deputy Minister in The Presidency Kenny Morolong; footer '© 2026 Government Communication and Information System'; SAnews contacts at gcis.gov.za)
Who is connected?
Networks
Not yet verified
- Agencies and funds under it Pending check
- Brand South Africa
- Media Development and Diversity Agency (MDDA)
- SAnews (South African Government News Agency)
- Public-office or party roles of board members Pending check
- On file; available on request. Request the full record
2 sources
- SAnews (GCIS), 'Minister Ntshavheni to deliver GCIS Budget Vote', 20 May 2026, read 2026-10-20 (Khumbudzo Ntshavheni, Minister in The Presidency, tables the GCIS Budget Vote for 2026/27, which also covers Brand South Africa and the Media Development and Diversity Agency; Deputy Minister in The Presidency Kenny Morolong; footer '© 2026 Government Communication and Information System'; SAnews contacts at gcis.gov.za)
- gov.za Contact Directory, 'Profile' listing of the national executive, read 2026-10-20 (President Ramaphosa, Matamela Cyril - Presidency (The); Deputy President Mashatile, Paul Shipokosa - Presidency (The); Minister in The Presidency Ntshavheni, Khumbudzo; Deputy Ministers in The Presidency Mhlauli, Nonceba Bianca and Morolong, Kenneth; Minister of Finance Godongwana, Enoch; Deputy Ministers of Finance Masondo, David and Sarupen, Ashor Nick; Minister of Communications and Digital Technologies Malatsi, Mmoba Solomon 'Solly'; Deputy Minister Gungubele, Mondli)
Change history
| Version | Date | What changed |
|---|---|---|
| 2 | 20 October 2026 | Updated from research database (Origin, Control, Money, Channels, Networks) |
| 1 | 19 October 2026 | First published |
Need the full picture?
This passport is the public summary. Our researchers can trace full ownership chains, funding, distribution and networks behind this organisation.
Commission an analysis