Daily Maverick
- Legal name
- Not disclosed
- Country
- South Africa
- Type
- Multi-platform group
- Founded
- 2009
- Editor-in-chief
- Jillian Green (Editor-in-chief)
- Claim
- Not claimed by the organisation
- Last verified
- 27 April 2026
1 of 6 layers verified
Transparency
Not yet disclosed
1 of 7 key disclosures on record, 1 of them checked by our researchers.
- Legal name and registration number not disclosed
- Owners with influence not disclosed
- Beneficial owners (the people behind the companies) not disclosed
- State or public-body ownership stated not disclosed
- State advertising or revenue mix not disclosed
- Public contact address not disclosed
- Official websites and accounts verified
- Owners not disclosed
Represent this organisation? Add legal name and registration number, owners with influence, beneficial owners (the people behind the companies), state or public-body ownership stated, state advertising or revenue mix, public contact address and the level moves up. Claim and complete
The organisation has not claimed this passport. It is built from public records; every fact shows its source and whether a researcher has checked it. Something wrong? Report it · Represent this organisation? Claim the passport
Who is it?
Origin
Partly verified
- Brand names Pending check
- Daily Maverick
- Maverick Insider
- Company registration number
- Not disclosed
- Registered address
- Not disclosed
- Public contact email
- Not disclosed
2 sources
- Daily Maverick, 'Branko Brkic to step down as Daily Maverick editor-in-chief', 2024-08-29, read 2026-10-19 (Daily Maverick 'incorporated on 1 September 2009'; deputy editor-in-chief Jillian Green to take over as editor-in-chief)
- Daily Maverick homepage (dailymaverick.co.za), version of about mid-October 2026, read 2026-10-19 (reader membership 'Join the 32,000 Maverick Insiders'; subscriptions and newspaper e-edition; sponsored content; footer 'Daily Maverick (c) All rights reserved'; no ownership statement on the page)
Who stands behind it?
Control
Nothing disclosed
- Owners with influence
- Not disclosed
- Beneficial owners
- Not disclosed
- State or public-body ownership
- Not disclosed
- Parent group
- Not disclosed
Who pays?
Money
Nothing disclosed
- State advertising and foreign public funding
- Not disclosed
- Revenue mix
- Not disclosed
- Named funders
- Not disclosed
Where does it appear?
Channels
Verified
- Official websites Verified
- Official social accounts
- Not disclosed
How does it travel?
Distribution
Nothing disclosed
- Distribution partners
- Not disclosed
Who is connected?
Networks
Nothing disclosed
- Sister outlets in the same group
- Not disclosed
- Documented public-office or party roles
- Not disclosed
Change history
| Version | Date | What changed |
|---|---|---|
| 2 | 20 October 2026 | Updated from research database (Origin, Channels) |
| 1 | 19 October 2026 | First published |
Need the full picture?
This passport is the public summary. Our researchers can trace full ownership chains, funding, distribution and networks behind this organisation.
Commission an analysis